Janáček philharmonic OstravaKoncerty2nd subscription concert in Opava

10. 07. 2022
19:00 p.m.
Opava, kostel sv. Václava
from 330 CZK

2nd subscription concert in Opava

Jan Křtitel Vaňhal
Symphony in A flat major

Josef Haydn
Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra in E flat major, Hob. VIIe/1

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony No. 41 in C major „Jupiter“ KV 551


Lucienne Renaudin Vary – trumpet
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Vojtěch Spurný – conductor


When Jan Křtitel Vaňhal found himself in Vienna thanks to Maria Anna Schaffgotsch, Countess of Althann, who recognised his talent, it was a turning point. He studied with the best teachers and played in a string quartet with Dittersdorf, Haydn and Mozart. He composed mainly symphonies, among which the Symphony in A major stands out, consisting of three movements with a typical classical fast-slow-fast plan. Compared to Vaňhal’s other works, it is melodically striking and does not compare with Haydn’s works which the listener will be able to compare immediately. The second in the sequence will be Haydn’s Concert for Trumpet and Orchestra in E flat major.

Also Haydn was taking advantage of the hospitality of patrons, as was customary at the time, and so he worked for some time at the chateau in Dolní Lukavica near Pilsen where he was invited by Karel Josef František, Count of Morzine. It is where he composed his first symphonies. Who would have guessed at the time that this young man would grow up to be one of the most famous and most played composers of classical music. As he was developing, his village castle was, of course, small, and he went from provincial bandleader to European celebrity during his time in Vienna and London. He left behind over two thousand works. The 1796 Concerto in E flat major, which received its premiere four years later, is one of the cornerstones of trumpet literature.

The evening will be closed by the genius of Mozart who his contemporary Haydn said about that such a talent would not reappear until a hundred years later. There is no need to add anything more to this. Only that mutual respect between artists is a very nice thing.