Janáček philharmonic OstravaKoncerty3rd subscription concert in Opava

29. 08. 2023
19:00 p.m.
Opava, kostel sv. Václava
from 450 CZK

3rd subscription concert in Opava

Leading Czech violinist Jiří Vodička and cellist Jakub Fišer will perform the solo parts of Mozart’s unconventional work – Sinfonia concertante. The Janáček Philharmonic will be led by its chief conductor Vassily Sinaisky.


Gioacchino Rossini
The Silk Ladder, overture to the opera

Arnold Schoenberg
The Bright Night, Op. 4

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concertante Symphony for Violin, Viola and Orchestra in E flat major KV 364


Jiří Vodička – violin
Jakub Fišer – viola
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Vassily Sinaisky – chief conductor of the JPO


Gioacchino Rossini’s operas filled the auditoriums of leading opera houses in the first half of the 19th century. He composed the early one-act comic farce The Silk Ladder in 1812 when he was twenty years old. The opera’s plot climaxes at nightfall, as the suitors climb the silk ladder to their mistresses’ chambers and the love affair gradually unravels. Today, the work is remembered for its brilliant overture.

Arnold Schoenberg’s late romantic work The Bright Night, based on Richard Dehmel’s poem of the same name, is also set at night. It reflects the feelings of a woman who tells her lover that she is pregnant with another child. The 1899 work opens the door to the emerging Expressionism with its changing harmonies. At its Viennese premiere in 1903, the piece was booed, but the innovative work gradually found its way to the public.

Mozart’s 1779 Concertante Symphony is also considered an artistic extravaganza. The work stands at the interface between symphony and concerto. The solo parts of Mozart’s unconventional work will be performed by the leading Czech violinist Jiří Vodička and violist Jakub Fišer.