Janáček philharmonic OstravaA/Symphony seriesA4: Giltburg plays Rachmaninoff

A4: Giltburg plays Rachmaninoff

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 4 in G minor, Op. 40

Richard Wagner (arr. H. M. Förster)
The Ring of the Nibelung, suite from the operas


Boris Giltburg – piano
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Heiko Mathias Förster – Chief Conductor of the JPO


Today’s Chief Conductor concert will at first bring to the stage a Moscow native, an Israeli pianist to play the last piano concerto of Sergej Rachmaninoff, a renowned piano player and exile composer in the United States. The history of European music hardly experienced a more grandiose project than The Ring of the Nibelung, the cycle of four mythological operas by Richard Wagner. Besides the tense singing parts, the main source of dramatic tension is the massive malleable stream of the orchestral sound, whose unusually ambitious role was one of the most discussed topics among the 19th century musicians. Even on concert stages it can create extraordinary dramatic tension.