C3: Ludwig here, Ludwig there

Ludwig van Beethoven
Sonata No. 1 in F Minor, Op. 2, No. 1 (3rd movement)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor, Op. 57 “Appassionata” (1st movement)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 6 in F major, op. 68 “Pastorale” (1st and 4th movement)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Fantasy for Piano, Chorus, and Orchestra in C minor, Op. 80 “Choral Fantasy”

Ludwig van Beethoven
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 73 “Emperor” (2nd and 3rd movement)

Ludwig van Beethoven
Fidelio, overture, Op. 72c

Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 (4th movement with Ode to Joy)


Alena Sasínová-Polarczyk – presenter
Jan Bartoš – piano
Canticum Ostrava
Jurij Galatenko – Choirmaster
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Ernest Hoetzl – Conductor


With such an extensive and powerful talent, only a few composers have been able to preserve this significant sense of self-criticality. For most of his life, he was destructively struggling with himself for the perfect shape of his compositions. He was barely satisfied with his work since the effort to break away from the human and reach the divine pursued him. Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827) is not only an author of his “Fifth” and of Ode to Joy. The variety and the power of his legacy make him one of the greatest heroes of the musical field.