Janáček philharmonic OstravaKoncertyK2 Andrei Ioniță – violoncello

13. 12. 2021
19:00 p.m.
Dům kultury města Ostravy
from 200 CZK

K2 Andrei Ioniță – violoncello

Michal Nejtek
Für Elsa Zylberstein II

Joseph Haydn
Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major, Hob. VIIb/1

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Serenade for Strings in C major, Op. 48 / 30 min


Andrei Ioniță – violoncello
Janáček Chamber Orchestra
Jakub Černohorský – artistic director


Contemporary composer Michal Nejtek sets an untraditional perception of time in his nine minute long piece Für Elsa Zylberstein II. The theme of the composition is unfulfillment, incomplete thoughts and sounds, which are realized through pauses and silence. The composition’s action does not follow the flow of time, but it jumps from event to event, from one moment to another.

Haydn’s Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major rightfully belongs to the most played cello concertos ever. The composer has written the piece in 1761 while serving the Esterházy court.

Who does not know the second movement of the famous serenade – Waltz? It is one of the most popular Tchaikovsky’s compositions, it is often played on its own, and most of the listeners are not even aware that it is a part of a bigger whole. Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings is among his most wonderful works.