Janáček philharmonic OstravaK/Chamber seriesK4: Camerata Janáček with Jana Boušková

K4: Camerata Janáček with Jana Boušková

Luigi Boccherini
The Night Music of the Streets of Madrid, Op. 30, No. 6

Eunojuhani Rautavaara
Ballad for Harp and Strings

Maurice Ravel
Scherzo. Assez vif. Très rythmé (Orchestral arrangement of the 2nd movement of the Quartet in F major)

Claude Debussy
Dances for harp and string orchestra

Bohuslav Martinů
Serenade No. 2

Josef Suk
Serenade for Strings in E flat major, Op. 6


Jana Boušková – harp
Camerata Janáček
Pavel Doležal – Art Director

Evocative Boccherini’s “The Night Music of the Streets of Madrid” for the strings opens the evening into a singing, dancing, but also pensive atmosphere. The recital of our prominent harpist Jana Boušková, who will be accompanied by the best performers of the chamber choir of the Janáček Philharmonic, Camerata Janáček, will connect the atmosphere of the nightlife of Madrid with the mysterious, almost terrifying harp ballad of the Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara. Harp adaptation of Ravel’s Scherzo, his only string quartet, will bring a contrast in the form of rapid tempo, variable metro, and technical virtuosity, but even in this case, the omnipresent mystery will not disappear. Even Debussy’s “spiritual and secular” dances will not deviate from the pensive darkness of the night. In the end, a pair of the Czech popular string serenades will be presented. While the little piece of Martinů looks back to the 18th century, Suk’s serenade gained worldwide popularity thanks to its romantic singing.