Janáček philharmonic OstravaKoncertyP4 Final concert of the 70th season II

03. 05. 2024
19:00 p.m.
Kino Vesmír
from 400 CZK

P4 Final concert of the 70th season II

Brahms’s Second Piano Concerto and Dvořák’s Golden Wheel in the program of the JPO’s final concert, which will be led by Vassily Sinaisky for the last time as chief conductor. The soloist in the Brahms composition will be the renowned Israeli pianist Boris Giltburg, with whom the chief conductor of Sinaisky has been cooperating for a long time.


Johannes Brahms
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 Op. 83

Antonín Dvořák
The Golden Wheel, Op. 109


Boris Giltburg – piano
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Vassily Sinaisky – Chief Conductor of the JFO


Although Brahms referred to the Second Piano Concerto as “little piano pieces” with his own irony, the work ranks among the most extensive Romantic concertante compositions ever written. Typical of its brilliant piano notation and masterful invention, the composition was composed by Brahms at the peak of his creative powers, in 1878-1881. The piece was a storming success at its premiere in Budapest, during which the composer himself played the solo part.

Antonín Dvořák’s The Golden Wheel is one of the works based on Erben’s Bouquet, of which Leoš Janáček was a great admirer. The composition from 1896 follows Erben’s balladic verses almost to the letter, and Dvořák has vividly portrayed a fairy-tale horror story with all its details.

A programme consisting of works by Johannes Brahms and Antonín Dvořák will be presented to the Ostrava audience and the orchestra by chief conductor Vassily Sinaisky, who has been with the JPO since 2018. The soloist in the Brahms Piano Concerto will be the renowned Israeli pianist Boris Giltburg, who has a long-standing artistic collaboration with Sinaisky.