Janáček philharmonic OstravaO/Series in Opava2nd subscription concert in Opava

2nd subscription concert in Opava

A. Dvořák
Scherzo capriccioso, Op. 66 B 131

C. Nielsen
Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra, Op. 57

L. van Beethoven
Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93


Pablo Barragán – clarinet
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Jakub Chrenowicz – conductor


Dvořák’s Scherzo capriccioso is characterized by a changing alternation of seemingly carefree, almost waltz-tuned intonations with dark, sometimes even grotesquely deformed passages. The composition is extremely difficult to interpret, but it is one of Dvořák’s most grateful listeners.

The one-movement clarinet concerto conceived Nielsen as a duel – expressing uneasiness from the state of society (premiere 1928 in Copenhagen) and dissatisfaction with how his work was received. Every time the melody comes in harmony and calming, the drum re-excites the tension.

The acceptance of the Eighth Beethoven Symphony was relatively lukewarm. When asked why Eighth is less popular than Seventh, Beethoven replied, “Because Eighth is much better.” The joyful mood of the composition and the author’s simpler construction of the work, but none of this reflects.