Janáček philharmonic OstravaA/Symphony seriesA1 66th season – Opening Concert

A1 66th season – Opening Concert

Johannes Brahms
 Concerto for violin and orchestra in D major, Op. 77

Josef Suk

Fairy Tale, a suite from incidental music for Radúz and Mahulena Op. 16

Sergey Khachatryan – violin
Vassily Sinaisky – conductor

Johannes Brahms was a devoted advocate for the so-called absolute music; he believed the beauty of music lies within the tones and their connection independently of its content. After listening to his violin concerto, which was created in collaboration with the violinist J. Joachim, some critics stated that it is a “symphony with an immense violin solo”. The technical requirements of this composition are impressive, which is why the solo part will be performed by the competent Armenian violinist Sergey Khachatryan (*1985), the youngest winner of The International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition (Helsinki, 2000), as well as one of the winners of the prestige Queen Elisabeth’s Competition (Brussels, 2005) that is coming to Ostrava. Brahm’s music philosophy is contrasting with Suk’s Fairy Tale as it became the inspiration for the fairy tale Radúz and Mahulena by Julius Zeyer. Josef Suk reduced the drama’s original music into a single symphonic suite, in which the full love story plays out.