Janáček philharmonic OstravaKoncertyA5: True and legendary heroes

A5: True and legendary heroes

Ludwig van Beethoven
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major, Op. 61

Jean Sibelius
Lemminkäinen Suite, Op. 22


Henning Kraggerud – violin
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Christoph-Mathias Mueller – Conductor


The trio of legendary violin concertos in D major has an extraordinary position in the repertoire of this musical instrument, having remarkable common features. These three concertos were kept as the only ones of this kind, by all of the three authors, Beethoven, Brahms and Tchaikovsky. The oldest one is written by the Hero of Enlightenment, Beethoven, and will be introduced by the sought-after Norwegian composer and violinist Henning Kraggerud.

Sibelius played in many respects the role of the Finnish Smetana, his major inspiration was the Finnish national epic Kalevala. The extensive four-part arrangement of the legend about Lemminkäinen who is killed, but his mother seeks out his body and puts his remains together and lets him revive will be studied by Christoph-Mathias Mueller, the Peruvian native, living and working in Switzerland, USA, and Germany.