Janáček philharmonic OstravaC/What we loveC4: The Chief Conductor hosts…

C4: The Chief Conductor hosts…

George Gershwin:
 Rhapsody in Blue
Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 1 in D Major (3rd movement)
Paul Hindemith: Symphonic Metamorphosis (March)
Gustav Holst: Jupiter from The Planets cycle
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 6 in D Major, Op. 60 (Scherzo)
George Enescu: Romanian Rhapsody No. 1 in A Major, Op. 11
Igor Stravinsky: The Firebird, suite from the ballet (Lullaby and Finale)


Vladimír Polák – presenter
Karel Košárek – piano
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Heiko Mathias Förster – Chief Conductor of the JPO

The JPO Chief Conductor was given carte blanche to choose the music for the last concert in the cycle. And we can say we were pleasantly surprised by his selection. At the beginning, you will hear the great Rhapsody in Blue by George Gershwin, perhaps the best-known representative of jazz and classical music fusion. This virtuoso piano work will be followed up by another piano classic – Rachmaninoff, whose Third Piano Concerto is one of the most fascinating pieces in the piano repertoire. In addition, we will witness the not very famous but incredibly magical March by Hindemith, and the energetic Romanian Rhapsody by George Enescu. All this is a guarantee of an extraordinary evening with your Janáček Philharmonic Orchestra!