Janáček philharmonic OstravaKoncertyE2: Passion and sensibility

E2: Passion and sensibility

Richard Galliano
Opale Concerto for Accordion and Chamber String Orchestra

Miklós Rózsa
Concerto for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 32

Zdeněk Fibich
Symphony No. 3 in E minor, Op. 53


Anežka Štenclová – accordion
Paulína Glacová – cello
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Marek Štilec – Conductor


The French accordionist Richard Galliano (* 1950) wrote for himself an attractive, typically Parisian mixture full of exotics and virtuosity. The Hungarian native Miklós Rózsa (1907-1995) became famous in American exile as a composer of film music – who would not know the Oscar winning Ben-Hur. His concert performance, including the appealing cello concerto from 1967-68, is no less significant. Fibich was not a big rebel, but his feelings to his pupil and librettist, Anežka Schulzová, were so strong, that he left his home and work environment and left for his muse, as also reflected in his fanciful Third Symphony.