26. 05. 2022
18:00 p.m.
Dům kultury města Ostravy
from 200 CZK

E4 ZUŠ Open

Edward Elgar
Salut d’Amour

Petr Iljič Čajkovskij
Piano Concerto No. 1 in B minor, final

César Franck
Panis Angelicus

Beáta Hlavenková
Prameny, Aprilios, Husa v mlze

Andrew Lloyd Webber
Jesus Christ Superstar , Co na tom je tak zlého

Wojciech Kilar


Irena Pohl Houkalová – vocals
Terezie Vodička Kovalová –
vocals, violoncello
Ivo Kahánek
– piano
Beata Hlavenková – piano
Ostrava Children’s Choir
Children’s choir MUZIKA
students of the Elementary Art Schools of Moravian-Silesian, Zlín and Olomouc region as soloist and tutti players
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Stanislav Vavřínek – conductor


The core of one-movement piece Krzesany from 1974 is made up of three chords which Wojciech Kilar noted down during his stay in Zakopaný. “They lay on the piano for a very long time, but I didn’t know what to do with them. And then I went abroad to Spain. I went there to watch the bullfighting. Perhaps it was because of the corrida that I thought of the continuation in Spain.” It is the composer’s farewell to the avant-garde: “At a certain moment I realized that the search for new, shocking sound sources had been exhausted. I decided that it could be a shock, too, to allude to something which had been deemed a closed chapter (i.e., folk music, taboo during the avant-garde era). Thus I came to write Krzesany.” During the performance, members of the orchestra will be joined by selected ZUŠ (Elementary Art School) students of the Moravian-Silesian, Olomouc and Zlín region.