K3 Belfiato Quintet


 Antonín Rejcha: Wind Quintet in E-flat major, Op. 88

Leoš Janáček: The Cunning Little Vixen, suite from the opera (for wind quintet)

Pavel Haas: Wind Quintet, Op. 10

Theodor Blumer: Wind Quintet, Op. 52


Belfiato Quintet

Antonín Rejcha takes the most credit for stabilizing the set-up of the wind quintet. He also wrote the biggest number of compositions out of all composers, totaling to 24 finished opuses. The magic of his pieces is within his extensive knowledge of each instrument, pinpointing their beautiful sound. The suite from Janáček’s opera The Cunning Little Vixen will be specially altered for wind quintet; its original symphonic version will be played ten days later.

Hugo Haas’ less known brother Pavel Haas, a composer, was one step away to be considered one of the most significant Czech composers. Unfortunately, his life was forcibly ended in 1944 in the Auschwitz death camp. His potential was shown in his Wind Quintet Op. 10, attracting attention from abroad. The evening will be concluded with the work of the German composer and conductor Theodor Blumer.