01. 03. 2021
19:00 p.m.
Dům kultury města Ostravy
from 180 CZK

K3 Pavel Haas Quartet

The concert is canceled

Béla Bartók
String Quartet No. 4, Sz. 91, BB 95

Bohuslav Martinů
String Quartet No. 7 “Concerto da camera”, H. 314

Johannes Brahms
String Quintet No. 2 in G major, Op. 111


Pavel Nikl – viola
Pavel Haas Quartet


Pavel Haas Quartet is currently one of Europe’s top performers. Pavel Haas was one of the most gifted Czech composers of the first half of the 20th century, but he died in a concentration camp. His brother, the famous actor Hugo, managed to emigrate…

The musicians who chose Haas’ name for their ensemble will introduce the classics to the Ostrava audience – Brahms, the extremely difficult Bartók and the “home” Martinů.

The six-string quartets are prominent in Bartók’s work. The first two belong to the so-called “romantic” ones, the third quartet belongs to “experimental” or dodecaphonic compositions influenced by A. Berg. In the fourth and fifth quartet classical forms again (influence of Beethoven, baroque and classicism). The author uses the so-called bridge form, which means that the musical material that will be heard at the beginning will appear in a different form at the end. The sixth has the most pessimistic character and the planned seventh was not completed.

Martinů was more productive in this respect, and he wrote eight string quartets, composed them continuously, so they provide an overview of his musical maturation, similar to Bartók’s. The Seventh Quartet is filled with inner peace and tranquillity. The author dedicated it to his wife Charlotte.

Brahms’ String Quintet No. 2, which in the first sentence brings up a symphonic boom, seriousness in the second and playfulness to merriment with clear responses from street music, is definitely tempting for a brilliant performance.