K4 Talented Youth

The concert is cancelled without an alternative date


Maurice Ravel: Introduction and Allegro for harp, flute, clarinet and string quartet

Joseph Haydn: Concerto for cello and orchestra No. 1 in C major

Edvard Hagerup Grieg: String quartet in G minor, Op. 27 (for string orchestra)


Amelia Tokarska – harp
Andrei Ionită – cello
Janáček Chamber Orchestra
Jakub Černohorský – art director


The French impressionist and master of instrumentalism Maurice Ravel supposedly favored his composition Introduction and Allegro for harp, clarinet and string quartet. We will hear this piece by the hand of the harpist Amelie Tokarská, who amazed the judges of the JPO interpretation competition. Following her will be the young Romanian cellist Andrei Ionită, the winner of the International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow (2015) and the BBC New Generation Artist scheme (2016). Ionită is one of the brightest rising stars of the contemporary music scene, raising enthusiasm among professional and amateur public alike. The work of the Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg, besides his Peer Gynt and a piano concerto, is rarely performing on the Czech stages. However, his introduction of the String quartet in G minor, specially altered for string orchestra, counts as one of those rarities.