Janáček philharmonic OstravaO/Series in Opava1st subscription concert in Opava

1st subscription concert in Opava

L. van Beethoven
Piano concerto No. 5

L. van Beethoven
Egmont, scenic music


Matyáš Novák – piano
Kateřina Kněžíková – soprano
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Jiří Rožeň – conductor

We have Beethoven’s year. This great composer is this year’s jubilant. In December, 250 years have passed since his birth. Although it is not known exactly when he was born (only the date of baptism – 17th 12th 1770 is known), which makes the organizers a bit hard head, but otherwise prevent worldwide celebrations. And of course, the Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava will also contribute.

The Piano Concerto No. 5 in E♭ major, Op. 73, by Ludwig van Beethoven, popularly known as the Emperor Concerto, was his last completed piano concerto. It was written between 1809 and 1811 in Vienna and was dedicated to Archduke Rudolf, Beethoven’s patron, and pupil. The first performance took place on 13 January 1811 at the Palace of Prince Joseph Lobkowitz in Vienna, with Archduke Rudolf as the soloist, followed by a public concert on 28 November 1811 at the Gewandhaus in Leipzig under conductor Johann Philipp Christian Schulz, the soloist being Friedrich Schneider. On 12 February 1812, Carl Czerny, another student of Beethoven’s, gave the Vienna debut of this work.
The epithet of Emperor for this concerto was not Beethoven’s own but was coined by Johann Baptist Cramer, the English publisher of the concerto. Its duration is approximately forty minutes.