Janáček philharmonic OstravaO/Series in Opava3rd subscription concert in Opava

3rd subscription concert in Opava

G. Ligeti
Concerto Românesc

R. Glier
Concerto for Color Soprano and Orchestra in F minor, Op. 82

S. Rachmaninoff
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30


Nicola Proksch – soprano
Won Kim – piano
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Petr Popelka – conductor


The Romanian concert of 1951 is based on the responses of authentic folk music. In his native Transylvania, Ligeti met musicians with animal masks playing violin and bagpipes as a child. His work reflecting these experiences was premiered only twenty years after its writing.

The concert for a solo singer without words is a truly unusual piece. Vocal music without verbal significance is used more as an exercise for the development of voice technique, but Glier built on it the whole concert, albeit relatively short. The first movement is slow and dreamy, the second movement is light.

The monumental Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 3 in D minor by Sergei Rachmaninov is regarded as one of the author’s masterpieces. The composition has the usual form of a solo romantic concert with three sentences, but in orchestration and conception brings a number of innovative practices. Today, this piano concert is one of Rachmaninoff’s most-played opuses.