Janáček philharmonic OstravaA/Symphony seriesA2 Episode in the Life of an Artist

A2 Episode in the Life of an Artist

02. 12. 2021
19:00 p.m.
Dům kultury města Ostravy
from 190 CZK

Change of the program and performer

Witold Lutoslawski
Symphonic variations

Mieczysław Weinberg
Cello Concerto, Op. 43

Hector Berlioz
Symphonie fantastique, Op. 14

Bedřich Smetana
Šárka, a symphonic poem from the cycle Má vlast


Danjulo Ishizaka – violoncello
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Andrey Boreyko
– conductor

Vassily Sinaisky – the chief conductor of JPO


The Cello Concerto was written by a polish Jew and fugitive of Stalin era Russia, Mieczysław Weinberg in 1956. The origin of the piece lies in the intense experiences from the three months long stay in prison in 1953 – he was fighting for his life and was only saved by the death of Stalin. The premier of the composition in Moscow in 1957 was performed by the famous violoncellist Mstislav Rostropovič. In Ostrava, it will be performed by the instrumentalist Danjulo Ishizaka.

In its time, Symphonie fantastique must have been an incredible breach of what the listeners of the orchestra were used to. To this day, this composition shocks with its ageless freshness of instrumental colours, crafty melodies, and rhythmically inventive tempo. Berlioz’s efforts to capture dreaming, madness of passion, loving delirium, or ecstatic state of mind with musical instruments brought him to the invention of “idée fixe” – the motif of a dream woman which is present throughout the whole composition. JPO had bells made especially for this symphony and so it is one of the few orchestras that can pride itself with this instrument.