Janáček philharmonic OstravaB1: Launch of the Music Marathon

B1: Launch of the Music Marathon

Luboš Fišer
Fifteen Prints after Dürer’s Apocalypse

Antonín Dvořák
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in A minor, Op. 53

Leoš Janáček
Monologue and Prayer of Jenůfa from the opera Her Stepdaughter

Leoš Janáček
The Eternal Gospel, Legend For Soloists, Mixed Choir and Orchestra


Jan Mráček – violin
Kateřina Kněžíková – soprano
Ľudovít Ludha – tenor
Czech Philharmonic Choir Brno
Petr Fiala – Choirmaster
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Heiko Mathias Förster – Chief Conductor of the JPO


Jan Mráček, the star of the youngest violin generation, will present the romantically flowing concert by Antonín Dvořák, whose strong spirit helped him to overcome more than one hardship, and who was thanking God in his score for each of his musical piece. Janáček’s spiritual world, on the contrary, is mysterious and from the theological point of view, it is more complicated. The Janáček’s vocal highlight of the evening will combine the fervent recitative music variation of the most significant Marian prayer in Czech version, Salve Regina, which is to be sung by worried and troubled Jenůfa, who is desperately searching for hope, with a sound-rich rendering of courageous, supraconfessional vision of The Eternal Gospel by Vrchlický.

In 1965, the forceful Dürer’s woodcuts, accompanying the biblical Apocalypse, became an inspiration for Luboš Fisher, who created an impressively terrifying orchestral area.