Janáček philharmonic OstravaB/Symphony seriesB3 Rachmaninoff performed by Lugansky

B3 Rachmaninoff performed by Lugansky

03. 03. 2022
19:00 p.m.
Dům kultury města Ostravy
from 190 CZK

Carlo Gesualdo (arr. Stanislaw Skrowaczewski)
Six madrigals

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Piano Concerto No. 1 in F♯ minor, Op. 1

Krzysztof Penderecki
Symphony No. 2


Nikolai Lugansky – piano
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Andrey Boreyko – conductor


Carlo Gesualdo, Italian noble of Venosa, known among other things for murdering his first wife and her lover, is one of the greatest composers of the late Renaissance. He predominantly composed madrigals – a favorite genre at the time. Grief, misery, and death – those are themes which are most often part of his work due to the aforementioned tragedy. The music is chimeric, full of violent contrasts to the extent that it may sound like it was composed in the twentieth century.

Rachmaninoff wrote the first movement of the Piano Concerto No. 1 when he was seventeen, and the second and third movements he composed a year later. What is remarkable is that he managed to preserve the youthful freshness of the piece even after he revised it in 1917. From the performer’s point of view, the piece is not only composed well, but also thought through performance-wise – maybe because Rachmaninoff himself was a performer. The basis of success is flawless execution of piano play.

Penderecki’s Symphony No. 2, nicknamed “Christmas Symphony”, from 1980 is a tribute to romantic music. It is no wonder then, that when it was first performed on the Warsaw Autumn Festival in 1981, it was like the festival returned to its roots in 1956. This Penderecki’s piece is closer to Tchaikovsky’s compositions rather than the trends of the 20th century.