B5 Final concert

13. 05. 2021
19:00 p.m.
Dům kultury města Ostravy
from 190 CZK

John Corigliano
„The Red Violin“ Concert for violin and orchestra

Claude Debussy
Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun

Jean Sibelius
Symphony no.7 C major op. 105


Elina Vähälä – violin
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Robert Spano – conductor


In the beginning, there is a film called Bloody Violin, which is inspired by the legendary instrument from Stradivari’s workshop called “Red Mendelssohn”. It is a fictional story of an artist who, crushed by the death of his wife, mixes her blood with a violin lacquer and creates an instrument with a miraculous sound. Anyone who falls under his spell will experience moments of great glory, but also misfortune and death. Corigliano first wrote music for the film, for which he won an Oscar. Only then did he work it into a violin concert.

Stéphan Mallarmé’s poem Faun’s afternoon, its rhythm and foggy atmosphere inspired Debussy to create the opus of the same name. The faun, a half-human and half-goat-like creature (horns and hoofs) rest on the seashore, and the flute play accompanies him with memories. Debussy embodied this sensual, mesmerizing and intoxicating atmosphere into unforgettable musical impressions. Fast, slow, fast. For centuries, the ordering of sentences in symphonies was a canon that was generally followed. Sibelius, however, heeded not. He created a one-movement composition where diversity is achieved by an almost ever-changing pace and tonal contrasts. He described his Seventh Finnish author as a work of joy in life and vitality. Shortly after her writing, however, retreated into seclusion and basically stopped composing until the end of his life.

Do not miss

E4 Musical youth with stars

the concert canceled

21. 05. 2021
18:00 p.m.
Dům kultury města Ostravy
from 200 CZK