Janáček philharmonic OstravaE/Young spiritE4: The Polovtsian Dances with Young Talents

E4: The Polovtsian Dances with Young Talents

Alexander Borodin: The Polovtsian Dances from the opera Prince Igor
Ferenc Liszt: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 in A Major
Giovanni Bottesini: Double Bass Concerto No.1 in F-sharp Minor
Zdeněk Lukáš: Double Concerto for Oboe, Bassoon, and Orchestra, Op. 302


Amaliya Abdurashidova – piano
Ondřej Sejkora – double bass
Barbora Šteflová – oboe
Pavel Horák – bassoon
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Jakub Žídek – Conductor

One of the greatest amateur composers, Alexander Borodin, is famous mainly for his opera Prince Igor. His notion of the music and dance of the hostile exotic nation of the Polovtsians still captivates the audience. Ferenc Liszt was one of the greatest piano celebrities of his period, and the solo part of his second concerto will be presented by Amaliya Abdurashidova from the University of Ostrava. Another Bottesini concerto within this cycle (this time the First) is also one of the basic components of the double bass repertoire. It will be performed by Ondřej Sejkora, a student from the Conservatory in Pardubice. And two of the members of the Brno trio Aperto, the oboist Barbora Šteflová and the bassoonist Pavel Horák, will add Lukáš’s Double Concerto to this great programme.