Janáček philharmonic OstravaK/Chamber seriesK2 Colli and La Scala String Quartet

K2 Colli and La Scala String Quartet

The program is changing!


Franz Schubert: Qartettsatz, Op. 12 D 703

Dmitri Shostakovich: String Quartet No. 8, Op. 57

Robert Schumann: Piano quintet in E-flat major, Op. 44



Federico Colli – piano

La Scala String Quartet


The real forte of Schuman’s works was his piano compositions. His chamber pieces top the Piano quintet in E-flat major, which was dedicated to his wife Clara who was also a great pianist, hence the dominant role of piano. Dmitri Shostakovich’s work is a firm pillar of the Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava’s repertoire (e.g. the symphony Leningrad will be performed in February 2020). One of the key pieces of his chamber music includes the Piano quintet in G minor. It premiered with its author as the pianist in a Moscow academy on November 23, 1940. The Italian Federico Colli is coming back to Ostrava with the La Scala String Quartet, an ensemble composed of members from an opera dome carrying the same name, and they will perform these monumental pieces of the chamber literature.