Janáček philharmonic OstravaR/Piano recital seriesR1 Lapšanský’s Piano Artistry

R1 Lapšanský’s Piano Artistry


Zdeněk Fibich: Moods, impressions and reminiscences, Op. 41 (selections)
Johannes Brahms:
Intermezzo in B-flat minor, Op. 117 No. 2
Johannes Brahms: Intermezzo in E-flat minor, Op. 118 No. 6
Leoš Janáček: Sonata 1. X. 1905 (From the Street)
Eugen Suchoň: Little suite with Passacaglia for piano, Op. 3 ESD 48a
Isaac Albéniz: The Spanish suite, Op. 47 (selections)
Isaac Albéniz: Iberia (selections)


Marián Lapšanský piano

Brahm’s piano opuses No. 116-119 are pensive, resigned, melancholic compositions through which the author is saying goodbye to his creation and life. Zdeněk Fibich’s Moods, impressions and reminiscences is a detailed diary inspired by the composer’s late love of the young Anežka Schulz. Janáček’s Sonata 1. X. 1905 was prompted by a tragic event: during demonstrations in support for a Czech university in Brno, a young worker was bayoneted. It is one of the most important pieces of the Czech piano literature ever. The second half of the concert will lift the mood with an entertaining dance atmosphere. The Little suite with Passacaglia by Eugene Suchoň comes from Vítězslav Novák’s requirements he had for his students; the composition from his early days is still one of his most performed ones. The music production was enriched at the turn of 19. and 20. centuries by exotic inspirations from the Pyrenees area, influencing Isaac Albéniz’s work.