B4 Nordic Music

The concert is cancelled


Edvard Hagerup Grieg
Peer Gynt, orchestral suite No. 2, Op. 55

Edward Elgar
Concerto for cello and orchestra in E minor, Op. 85

Kaija Saariaho
Notes on Light

Edvard Hagerup Grieg
Peer Gynt, orchestral suite No. 1, Op. 46


Johannes Moser – cello
Gabriel Bebeselea – conductor


This concert is performed by Edvard Grieg (Norweigan), Finn Kaija Saariaho (Finn), and Edward Elgar (English). The evening will be enriched by Grieg’s orchestral suites Peer Gynt that were created from the original scenic music of Ibsen’s drama. Ibsen asked Grieg himself to compose the music in 1874. Its premiere was two years later in Oslo, celebrated with ovations from the audience. The middle part of the concert is for cello compositions that will be performed by the competent German-Canadian cellist Johannes Moser. First will be a cello concert by Edward Elgar, whose performance is one of the most extensive works of its kind. The second cello concert is younger by nearly a century, composed in 2006 by the Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho from Paris. Her music brings out every aspect of a female composer – colors, sensibility, gentleness, and lyricism. “My music is written for ears. There is no need to intellectualize it. Let yourself come in,” said the author herself.