E4: Charming evening

Cécile Chaminade
Concertino for Flute and Orchestra, Op. 107

Maurice Ravel
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in G major

Giuseppe Martucci
Symphony No. 1 in D minor, Op. 75


Lucie Režná – flute
Martin James Bartlett – piano
Janáček Philharmonic Ostrava
Claudio Vandelli – Conductor


The evening combining the French and Italian music is unexpectedly lively and also original when it comes to the variety of rhythms. The favorite hymnal Flute concertino by the French composer Cécile Chaminade will be complemented by the Ravel’s piano concert featuring the signs of jazz, and also by the bombastic First Symphony by Giuseppe Martucci, who at the end of the 19th century attempted to set the Italian music free from the exclusive subjection to the opera.