31. 01. 2022
19:00 p.m.
Dům kultury města Ostravy
from 200 CZK

K3 Pavel Haas Quartet

Josef Suk
Meditation on the Old Czech choral Saint Wenceslas for string quartet Op. 35a

Erich Wolfgang Korngold
String Quartet No.3 in D major, Op.34

Antonín Dvořák
String Quartet No. 13 in G major, Op. 106


Pavel Haas Quartet:
Veronika Jarůšková, Marek Zwiebel – violin
Luosha Fang – viol
Peter Jarůšek – violoncello


Josef Suk was a member of Bohemian Quartet for forty years and despite writing chamber music his whole life, it was the founding of the Bohemian Quartet that gave his creative potential a new impulse. The First World War restricted the activities of the quartet and the number of their performances. One of the exceptions was the Prague concert of the Red Cross in September 1914, where the composition Meditation on the Old Czech choral Saint Wenceslas was performed for the first time.

Korngold escaped Vienna just before the Second World War started. He went through a creative and personal crisis. He found asylum in the United States where he worked as an author of film scores. However, as the films’ quality degraded, he began to write classical music and so the String Quartet, Op.34 was born. He wrote in secret so that he could dedicate it, at least in sketches, to his wife as a Christmas present in 1944. He finished the composition in summer 1945.

“I’m enjoying the nature and I’m resting and doing nothing, which you might find strange, but it is the truth and nothing but the truth, I’m lazy and I don’t even touch the pen,” wrote Antonín Dvořák in a letter from Vysoká to his friend Göbl. However, the concept of two new string quartets was already forming. The String Quartet No. 13 in G major is Dvořák’s first composition written after his return from the USA.

Current conditions valid for admission to the concert

How to proceed when returning tickets or exchanging for a voucher