Janáček philharmonic OstravaKoncertyK4 Danjulo Ishizaka – violoncello

12. 04. 2021
19:00 p.m.
Dům kultury města Ostravy
from 180 CZK

K4 Danjulo Ishizaka – violoncello

The concert is canceled

Johann Sebastian Bach
Suite for Solo Cello No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007

Gaspar Cassadó
Suite for Solo Cello

Johann Sebastian Bach
Suite for Solo Cello No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1008

Zoltán Kodály
Sonata for Solo Cello, Op. 8


Danjulo Ishizaka – violoncello


Danjulo Ishizaka is a Japanese-German cellist who normally plays with the best orchestras in the world. Despite the fact that he is a brilliant star of the contemporary interpretative sky, it remains modest, respectable, and can do without any external tinsel. He has performed several times in Ostrava, most recently with Shostakovich’s Concerto No. 2. Ishizaka is one of the artists who regularly return to Ostrava, this time with a recital for solo cello without piano accompaniment.

Bach’s Suite for Solo Cello was for years regarded as technically demanding instructive literature, and it was not until Pablo Casals began to perform with it. Today it is a “compulsory” repertoire for every cellist.

Two centuries after Bach, however, no one wrote a similar opus. Until the Hungarian composer Zoltán Kodály. Apart from Bach, his sonata was inspired by the compositions of Debussy and Bartók and especially by Hungarian folk music and is one of the most difficult and essential pieces of the cello repertoire ever. Gaspar Cassada’s suites from 1926 combine Bach’s dance-style suites with Spanish temperament, for example, the Catalan national dance of Sardinians.