02. 11. 2023
18:00 p.m.
Kino Vesmír
from 200 CZK

E1 Young soloists I

Talented young artists who succeeded in the interpretation competition of the Janáček Philharmonic will perform a varied mixture of concert compositions for clarinet, recorder, oboe or piano, ranging from baroque to Viennese classicism to jazz.


František Vincenc Kramář-Krommer
Concerto in E flat major for Clarinet and Orchestra Op. 36, 1st movement

John Baston
Concerto No. 2 in C major for soprano recorder and piano

Frigyes Hidas
Concerto for Oboe and Orchestra in D major

Alexander Tsfasman
Jazz Suite for piano and orchestra “Snowflakes”

Karl Ditters von Dittersdorf
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in A major, 3rd movement

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 23 in A major KV 488


Matthew Stephen Hockaday – clarinet
Matilda Žídková and Vojtěch Pálka – recorder
Arseny Menkov – oboe
Štěpán Novotný – piano
Magdaléna Kovářová – piano
Ondřej Zavadil – piano
Janáček Pihlarmonic Ostrava
Stanislav Vavrinek
– conductor


This concert will present a varied selection of concert pieces performed by talented wind players and pianists who have been successful in the JFO performance competition.

This clarinet concerto by one of the most successful Czech composers of his time, František Vincenc Kramář, follows in the footsteps of the works of Haydn and Mozart and is popular for its melodiousness.

The recorder concerto by John Baston, an English Baroque flutist and cellist who worked as a musician in London opera orchestras, provides a space for joyful music-making.

Hungarian composer Frigyes Hidas was inspired to create the Hobo Concerto by a combination of Baroque, Classical and folk music. Thanks to Hidas’s extraordinary flair for the possibilities of the solo instrument, the composition has gained popularity among oboists worldwide.

There will also be a piece cut from a Hollywood musical comedy. The 1945 jazz suite, also known as Snowflakes, was composed by Alexander Tsfasman, one of the most important Soviet composers of jazz music.

Karl Ditters von Dittersdorf lived for many years in the Czech town of Javorník, but his compositions were in the spirit of Viennese classicism. His Concerto in A major, originally intended for harpsichord, will be performed by a modern piano.

The programme will conclude with music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. The Piano Concerto in A major was written in parallel with the opera The Marriage of Figaro and the influences of the Italian operatic style are simply undeniable.